HomeAbout UsEventsEducationPhoto GalleryHall of FameMembershipSupport AJS Tickets

August 4th
Austin Jazz Society - Monks Jazz
Live Streaming Event

David Jellema - cornet & clarinet
Alice Spencer - vocals
John Sheridan - piano
 Ryan Gould - bass

To stream the concert on YouTube
To stream the concert on Facebook
David Jellema was born in the Nation's Capital and raised in its suburbs. As a lad he spent his summers by the shores of Lake Michigan, where he met and came under the influence of two well-known disciples of Bix Beiderbecke—Tom Pletcher and Don Ingle.

He began playing the cornet forty years ago, and the clarinet twenty-five. Inspired initially by live performers and vintage recordings, he kept his love of music alive and expanding long past perfunctory school band programs through private study, sitting in with many different traditional jazz bands, forming his own jazz groups, and performing in a variety of informal and formal music ensembles and recordings (jazz, dance band, pop, Avant-rock, baroque, gospel, choral).

His education in music came thereby through this long-term passion and the experience of participation. His professional career playing music exclusively, though, came much later in life with a move to Texas. After two years performing at Jim Cullum’s Landing in San Antonio, and forming his own band there, he explored the Austin jazz community and moved here to play among many groups that keep older vintage styles of music active.

He currently lives in Austin where he freelances his talents. He has been among founding members of the Thrift Set Orchestra, East Side Dandies, Hollywood Revue, Oxblood Melodians, and Bat City Six; a regular member of The Jazz Pharaohs, Albanie and Her Fellas, Jonathan Doyle Swingtet and Sahara Swingtet, Floyd Domino All Stars, Brooks Prumo Orchestra, Waller Creek Vipers, La Grosse Tete; and adjunct to Aunt Ruby's Sweet Jazz Babies, Rent Party, and The Swingsters.  

For this streaming performance, David (cornet, clarinet) will be joined by Alice Spencer (vocals), John Sheridan (piano) and Ryan Gould (bass).